Keirartworks's Blog

hmmm. hmmm?

what music does, after

Leave a comment

sometimes mistakes are more interesting - an accidental long exposure

This was taken on the Saturday of Lupercalia in Owen Sound, 7am-ish before I took this cello to hospital in Paisley. It’s wednesday now, and the world of daily work and longer-term projects has re-established it’s mastery over the ship. I’m on lunch now from one of my other jobs, catching up on tasks and chores for a third.

But after that weekend of playing with and for people, I’m different. This is how music performance works for me – call it whatever you like, but there are physiological and psychological changes that occur after each show/ session, especially if there’s been a fair amount of focused preparation leading up to it. If you read about music and neurplasticity there are scientific clues there that will astonish you.  A book called “The Brain that Changes Itself” is a good place to start.

I wake up now with Tyler Wagler’s, Willi Henry’s and Joel Morelli’s songs in my head, REHEARSING them while I walk, while I write, while I report, meet, stop for lunch, read a book, stare at the sunlight on the bay. I don’t choose to do this, it just happens.

Tulipwood back of the Otter Cello, as I now think of her

I also have images of my new borrowed cello made by luthier Sibylle Ruppert flashing through my thoughts, and I KNOW I’m committing our sound to memory – learning about it while I do other things, so that when I practise again We are better.

While these things are going on in the back of my mind, the ‘front-end’ is more functional, more efficient, more alive, more perceptive and more fun to be with.  ahh.  happy sigh.

…the MORAL of this story is that everyone – EVERYONE – should play music, learn music, listen. And we should teach EVERY kid, too.

…and now I must return to work…..

Author: keirartworks

Artist, Musician, Writer, Teacher. Mum to an incredible person, friend to many, Incredibles. Gardener. Thinker. Collaborator. K

Leave a Reply

