Keirartworks's Blog

hmmm. hmmm?

all I hear are crickets, and the fire

3 Comments

In between today and tomorrow sit the moon and I, listening.

There’s a slow fire, which aims smoke and light high & away from me.  The moon, 2 days past full eclipse, is up and to my left. The sounds:  Samantha the outdoor cat, purring and hunting for my lap; a crackle, to amplify the embers in front of me. The odd car driving by at 1am, on grey road 1.  They’re local – north to Kemble, or the quiet route home to East Linton, Balmy Beach.  I can smell the damp night.

The rest is crickets.  It takes a while to figure it, but five are close enough to be specific, then there’s a general cricket frequency beyond that in the fields.

I can't see this in the dark, but I know I took the picture ten feet from where I sit.

I understand that listening is a responsibility we all share.  That it goes beyond listening –  to Hearing what lies beneath, without judgement….  and being humble and big enough to be fundamentally altered by it  (also awkwardly human enough to remain unchanged, if this be the case).  If I cannot listen …and hear…, I know I’m off-track, and need to shift my priorities, (once again).

So many people that I know and love have shared stories, personal history, profound and heart-felt observations with me in these past few weeks – I feel full like the moon was this past Wednesday, and deeply, privately  honoured.

um, thanks.

I guess I really need to play the Faure Requiem next Saturday in Markdale, for all of us.  I guess I do need to say what I think, however quietly, or loudly.  I guess I do need the courage to be bald in my frailty, my faults, my failures ….and also my brilliance, which is really Our Brilliance.
We are none of us truly solitary.

Happy Saturday morning to yus.  And for those (all?) who are sleeping, here’s a picture:  fire barely visible, save for the odd spark.  Ten crickets now,  close.  Very distant bullfrogs.  No cars.

The moon has travelled ’round to almost face me, and she’s wearing a definite shade of…. apricot.

Author: keirartworks

Artist, Musician, Writer, Teacher. Mum to an incredible person, friend to many, Incredibles. Gardener. Thinker. Collaborator. K

3 thoughts on “all I hear are crickets, and the fire

  1. Have I ever mentioned to you that I love to read these blogs??? I look forward to them (the friday report, intentions, etc) You have such a way with words and it makes me stop and get myself grounded a little more and focus a little more and most of all to look at what is happening and be a little more grateful. I am finding there is much beauty in the unfinished work , the field that didnt get plowed and the storms.
    The universe does beautiful work all by itself and still rewards me with my efforts. Instead of feeling overwhelmed by all there is still to do, I have decided that I am going to be thankful that I have been given so many choices ……
    Have a great week Keira

    • Wow, thanks Deb. What a great compliment you give me!. You know, it’s sometimes a shock to me that folk actually read this- I began to write this blog for just the pure personal joy of using language and imagery together to say something – anything at all, actually. It gradually turned into a kind of conversation with myself – an opportunity to ‘mark’ key inner occasions, I guess. How neat, to know how they’ve resonated with you! Thanks.

  2. So I lay here in my Sunday night bed reading my favorite blogger and how she started her weekend with the crickets and the moon and as a former Kembleite knowing, feeling, hearing the sound the moon makes as the crickets chirp. I now also give thought to what a healthy practice it would be to own my failures and to give credit to Everyman for my triumphs.

Leave a Reply

