Keirartworks's Blog

hmmm. hmmm?

fathoms

Leave a comment

I stare at the handle of a red screwdriver and use my ears to see the space around me.  There are tires scribing the wet street three floors down; the clock ticks each second in counterpoint to the keys on my laptop.  Furnace just kicked in like a huge breathing thing acres wide and deep; the cat licks its’ shoulder. I cannot hear walls.

Audio memory kicks in now too, adding the plink…plink! of piano tuning from this morning; the breathless excited scramble-wiggle of dog claws on studio floor; footsteps like signatures in the hallway; doors squeaking open and banging shut – punctuation for arrival.  All the voices who spoke here today, each carrying different degrees of anxiety or humour,  as we navigate the measured hours before Christmas.

StudioDec2014_Piano_Cello

My ears cannot hear the sound of a to do list.  They hear only what is, and record what has been, for playback later.

StudioDec2014_Sewing_Books

These small moments I get –  to explore the shape of the room with my ears, to examine with just my fingertips the shape and texture of my cello, of a book, or a pencil as my blind grandmother did for 50 years – they are possible because I’ve chosen to make gifts, not buy them.

I have also given myself the gift of time.

StudioDec2014_selfiewpaintingwall

Happy Christmas and Hannukah everyone.

May the time with yourself and with those you care for be rich with love.

Author: keirartworks

Artist, Musician, Writer, Teacher. Mum to an incredible person, friend to many, Incredibles. Gardener. Thinker. Collaborator. K

Leave a Reply

