Keirartworks's Blog

hmmm. hmmm?

Yesterday a squirrel…

Leave a comment

I got up from writing to answer the knocking at my front door, wondering if I’d have to speak federal election with someone I’d never met, or if my neighbour needed a hand.

ScarletRunners

There was no one there, save for a couple walking down the street.  When I looked down to the stoop I found a walnut, still wrapped in its green ball.  As I picked it up I saw a black squirrel staring at me from the driveway.

He looked so ready and willing and …waiting.  I rolled the walnut across and over the porch and down to the pavement to him.

He caught it, with a little squeak of … glee?  And rolled it under my car.

I looked at the couple, who’d stopped in their tracks – yes they saw that.

BackDeck_morningSun

For a moment all the bustle and think of Human was interrupted by the bustle and gather of Squirrel, and we played “Roll the Walnut”.

Smile.  Pause.

I closed the front door and got back to work.

Author: keirartworks

Artist, Musician, Writer, Teacher. Mum to an incredible person, friend to many, Incredibles. Gardener. Thinker. Collaborator. K

Leave a Reply

